Fly Fishing reference book

Looking for a good general reference book on fly fishing. which one would you recomme

• The Complete Idiot's Guide to Fly Fishing by Michael D. Shook

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Fly Fishing for Dummies by Peter Kaminsky

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

truchas

Reaction score
Looking for a good general reference book on fly fishing. which one would you recommend?

1 The Complete Book of Fly Fishing by Tom McNally

2 The Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide by Tom Rosenbauer

3 The L.L. Bean Ultimate Book of Fly Fishing by Macauley Lord, Dick Talleur, and Dave Whitlock

4 The Complete Idiot's Guide to Fly Fishing by Michael D. Shook

5 Fly Fishing for Dummies by Peter Kaminsky

6 Other, please indicate the title and author.

Thanks,

Truchas.

kinderfly

Reaction score
the complete book of fly fishing is really a great book. it teaches you a little bit of everything. I especially like the focus he puts on Knots and the step by step instructions. I'm new to fly fishing and this book has helped tremendously.

I suggest you go to your local library and check out all three of the top books that people suggested and you can determine for yourself which one you would want to buy... If you want to buy any of them. I personally don't buy any books because we have an awesome library system in N.Y. One card and you can go to any library in about 8 counties...

Frank Whiton

Most Senior Member
Reaction score
Hi truchas,

I have a little different perspective on buying books or DVD's. I think you are better off with specialty books for specific interest. If you want to learn knots, buy a knot book. If you are interested in Steelhead fishing, buy a book about Steelhead. I think you get the idea. When you buy a specialty book you generally get an author who specializes in a specific type of fishing. General books that give you a little bit about everything are OK but you may not get as much information on a single type of fishing that you may be interested in.