• I am a FFF pro instructor and teach others

Votes: 2 4.3%
  • Other

Votes: 3 6.5%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

karstopo

Reaction score
Did you take lessons to learn how to cast? From a certified professional or someone that you knew? Do you continue to take lessons? Or want to?

Just another I'm curious poll. No right or wrong answer if it works for you.

dennyk

Reaction score
The only thing I'm an expert at is trial and error (practice). In the past I've got good informal instruction from fly shop owners and employees. Today if I am interested in a particular cast the instruction is usually from Orvis videos or YouTube.

Denny

spm

Reaction score
I was self-taught from the age of 11. Then as an adult, living in St. Louis, I took a series of fly fishing and tying lessons from a local fly fishing club. That was in the late 80s or early 90s. Then nothing until around 2005 a friend and I hired a guide for a half-day of instruction on the water. Haven't learned anything since.

steve

Last edited:

clsmith131

Reaction score
I've gotten pointers from a few friends, and watched videos, but mostly trial and error. I'm not against taking a lesson or two at some point, but for now, I have enjoyed the learning phase. I have a decent double haul, and have learned different ways to impart action on the streamers, for stripers and bass. I need to be able to cast 60-80 ft with accuracy, in sometimes windy conditions. I can do this fairly well, but still have plenty of room for improvement. As for trout fishing, I'm still pretty clumsy, but seem to get those "ah-ha" moments pretty regularly. There is certainly no shortage of literature on the matter, so I read a lot about various methods for stalking trout. The tying has lately taken up a lot of my time, and in gaining better understanding of the flies, I have gotten better at fishing them.

kentuckysteve

Reaction score