Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Rabbit Skin N.C. (Western North Carolina)

Default Furled Leaders I'd like your thoughts

I have been using furled leaders off and on for several years and I'd love to hear some input from some of you on whether you like them, if yes,do you have a preference of brands, unithread vs. mono vs. fluro ?? Do you like them with the small metal ring ?

Would love to hear from you guys & gals...Thanks...........

Default Re: Furled Leaders I'd like your thoughts

I fish warmwater for bass and panfish and find furled leaders work great for my fishing. I've been making my own (twisted leaders) for a year or so now and like the fact I can easily adjust construction (size line and ratio of butt, midsection, and tippet proportions) to fit about any situation.

Never tried a leader with a tippet ring, simply because I like a simple handshake loop connection for the tippet. Bad enough getting strikes on the perfection loop knot without adding a shiny ring to attract more attention to the connection.

I use mono line for dry flies and flouro for wets & nymphs.

Hey Bob,

I, too, furl my own. I use a shorb loop at both ends. As for materials, #2 & 4 mono, A few Flouro for depth, and I love furled. I actually like that mono has some 'stretch' to it as it helps protect lighter tippets-- never had a problem with hook sets or feel with the stretch.

Never used thread-- no reason 'cept for cheap-ness (on my part ) I have a few 1200 yd. spools of mono that cost me about 3 bux. each. Thread is 3 bux for 200 yd....

I enjoy making them more than using them. I don't do much Trout fishing, in fresh and saltwater my presentation seems ok with a standard leader so I usually don't bother. That didn't stop me from building a jig and making tons of them on my basement two years ago. I furled everything from mono to dental floss just to keep busy through the winter.
    The best way to a fisherman's heart is through his fly.