Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default My floating line sinks

Hi All. I'm new to the sport and have a WF floating line. Originally purchased to play around with panfish, I now use it to chase trout (got 2 browns and a rainbow last night during the Hex hatch). I've mostly fished dry flies but want to try some nymphs. I've seen/read that you watch the tip of your fly line for pauses to indicate a fish has taken the fly. Well, the first 12-18 inches of my fly line sinks. Is that normal? Is it the braided loop connector that I've got on there? Should I cut that off and tie a perfection loop instead? Any info would be appreciated.

Default Re: My floating line sinks

Sounds as if you need to seal the flyline where your leader is tied. Frank will show up soon and tell you to use Pliobond (sp?) to seal the knot and end of the flyline. He would not be wrong.

What happens is that, over time, your flyline will get water within it's core and sink. IMO, I would not use superglue or anything like that as it is not flexible.
    It's not the heat, it's the stupidity.
    What manner of jackassery will I be subjected to today?

Quote Originally Posted by axle27 View Post
    Sounds as if you need to seal the flyline where your leader is tied. Frank will show up soon and tell you to use Pliobond (sp?) to seal the knot and end of the flyline. He would not be wrong.

What happens is that, over time, your flyline will get water within it's core and sink. IMO, I would not use superglue or anything like that as it is not flexible.
    How about Knot Sense? Reason I ask is that it dries faster than Pliobond if you either put it in sunlight for a few seconds or use their proprietary light if indoors?
    On the whole, I'd rather be in Wyoming . . .
    Fly2:

I have not used knot sense so I can't comment on it. I know that alot of people use it to close there knots, but don't know how effective it is in sealing the end of the fly line.