What tapers for beginners?

gr8johnson

Reaction score
I am not a total beginner, I have fumbled along without any real pro help. I have done most of my fly fishing in south west Florida. I am actually using the same rod, a 6/7 wt, that I started with before I moved to Florida. I just upped the wt of the line done in the saltwater. I just got back into the sport after 4 years.

My main question is what taper is easiest for beginners? Weight forward or double taper. Which one is easiest to cast.
It seems like I still have a large loop in my back cast. Now, it probably is still my technique, but I was wondering if it was the forward weight line being heavier in the tip. It is a 7 wt line by the way.

Also, what are the advantages in the better( more expensive) line as far as casting goes. I know I went cheap with my line. I bought some Cortland Fairplay
FW7F on eBay for $5.00 new. So I picked it up. Now what is the big disadvantage using this low end line? It doesnt have any memory, but I am sure there is some reason Some costs more than others.
Thanks for any help gang.

Trucha

Reaction score
I would go with the DT. The price of line isn't too much of a factor as long as you take care of it, especially in salt water. Keep it clean and treated. As you become a better caster, you may want to specialized depending on the target species you are seeking; reds, snook, bones, etc. A weight forward (or other similiar lines) have the majority of the taper in the front making it easier to cast into the wind, large flies, or so it is said.

The loop in your back cast is due to your technique. If at all possible, get someone to give you some casting tips; local fly shops, instructors. It helps get the learning curve out of the way.

Fish hard.

BigCliff

Reaction score