What's one new thing you'll learn?

two_nymph_rig

Reaction score
What is one new thing you will learn how to do this fly season? Last year was the first time i'd ever tried really fishing nymphs with weight added to the line. that is going to be my focus this year. how about everybody else?

---------- Post added at 11:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:57 AM ----------

i'd like to add to mine. i've never tried fishing a wet fly before either, so that might be a new experience.

Kerry Pitt

Reaction score
I am in the middle of a learning curve, experimenting with multi-fly rigs. In B.C. where I grew up I could only use one fly, now after many years of this it is a new experience that I need to improve on.....Kerry:)

Rip Tide

Reaction score
Within the last few days the ice has broken up in the large river coves which to me signals the beginning of the pre-spawn pike season.
So right now I got northern pike on the brain.
A short term goal is to learn a few new places. Hopefully spots where I can wade before flood season begins.
I wasn't able to fish yesterday, but I did check out a couple of new places that look promising.

Later in the season, I think I'd like to spend more time sight fishing. Not just on the salt water flats and in the surf, but on the local river's flats for carp

Bigfly

Reaction score
Kerry,SDF, That is why I enjoy this sport. Unlimited learning.
My "jones" right now is the switch rod thing, A whole new set of casts, mends.
That, and getting to fish I couldn't reach before. Gotta love it!

Jim

Jimmie

Reaction score
#1: Recognizing strikes indications then setting the hook more timely, and in the right direction.
#2: BUT, I need work on it all.
distance
high sticking
etc

bekiu002

Reaction score
Really show that double haul who is boss, I am sick and tired of it laughing at me and calling me hurtful names.
Cabot

Jackster

Reaction score