keep losing flies!

smog7

Reaction score
So far every time that I have gone out fishing I have lost a fly. Mind you I am a beginner fly fishermen. I've noticed that I lose them on my backcast, either on nearby bushes or rocks on the floor. I always check for bushes before casting, but it seems as though I always manage to snag on something. Is this fairly normal for beginners? What am I doing wrong?

ant

Reaction score
man, when i started I was going through a dozen flys and outting!:shocking:

but that will pass, just keep an eye on your surroundings to avoid snags. another thing to watch is during your backcast that you let the line straighten out before starting your forward cast. if the line still has too much of a loop in it when you start your front cast, you essentially crack the line like a whip and it will pop off flies(i speak from experience.) What works for Indiana Jones doesn't work for fish.:D

simmons_j_m

Reaction score
Ant is on the money answer... My first outing was 5 flies and I've progressively gotten better... I still lose about one or two an outing now due to some kind of snag... My first couple times out I was popping off the flies on the back cast.

Short answer: Yes, it's normal. :D

Justin

Kerry Pitt

Reaction score
I think everyone goes through this, but there may be something you can watch for besides the bushes.
If you are a new caster, you may sometimes get a "buggy whip" effect when you are casting.
If you hear a SNAP sound behind you, it is because you are dropping your back cast too much. This can snap your fly off if you are using a lighter tippet, it used to happen to me when I was first learning.
Good luck, it will get easier as time goes on.....Kerry:)

jcw355

Reaction score
You will get better. I tend to get sloppy on my casting and have to be mindful about it. Trees and bushes will still get some but so will the fish. It will happen.

Walter1023

Reaction score