What is the ultimate fly fishing boat?

bonneville54

Reaction score
You know, one that handles all types of water....shallow lakes and marshes, big waves on big lakes, the California Delta, very little draft, wide and stable and so on.

Seriously, I'm looking for a boat that is rather versatile and have looked at a few from Lund and Lowe and Tracker. I like the idea of a Bass type boat (with no use for a live well) and Lowe has one called the Multi-Species.

Stinger Mod-V Crappie Boats by Lowe - high-value, low-cost aluminum multi-species fishing boats - 175

But, I'm new to this....Deep Vee? Modified Vee? Flat bottom?.....how much power does one need?

Looks to be a lot of good used boats on the market (at least in CA.) If you can't see it in the water....what do you look for in a used boat, how do you test the motor?

Thoughts?

BigCliff

Reaction score

Joni

Reaction score
The one you posted looks pretty darn close to perfect to me. We had a 14 Alumacraft with all the fishing bells and whistles, but it was a bit small, so we upgraded to a Monarch 16 footer. Both with a merc 25 four. It was just enough to get us off the lake when waves kicked up.
We are now looking at John Boat style.

JON BOATS - Side Console, All-Welded - Alumacraft 2010

lancer09

Reaction score
I fish a lot of big water and boats are hard to beat, especially when covering a lot of water. One thing to keep in mind, if you are planning on fishing some rivers with shallow rifles it would be best to have some sort of flat bottom and jet engine. They are actually fun to drive and there are very few spots in a big river that you wont be able to get to. We used to travel up rifles less than 4 inches deep without a problem.

MoscaPescador

Reaction score
Hi Bonneville,