Newbie questions

scooter

Reaction score
I'm just getting into flyfishing and am looking at a combo. I don't want to spend a lot of money starting out. I'll be fishing for crappies, bluegills, largemouth, and smallmouth, but I'm only going to buy 1 outfit so I'm thinking of a 5wt. Would a 5wt be fine? Also could you suggest a few commercial flies for these species of fish? What about floating or sinking line and brand of line? Can you use regular fishing line as a leader? I was thinking of this combo from basspro White River Fly Shop™ Hobbs Creek™ Large Arbor Disc Drag Outfits. The rod is a IM-6, does that mean 6wt? Also when fighting fish do you bring them in by bringing in line with the hand, or do you reel them in? Sorry for all the questions but thanks for all the help.

ffffg

Reaction score
i can answer only a couple of your questions. im 6 is a type of material for buiding all different weights of rods.. as to the reel questions i use every means possible to keep the line tight.. if the fish takes a run strait at you it will probably be nessessary to pulll the line in by hand.. its nice to get all the extra line between you and the fish on the reel as soon as possible tho, becouse the loose line youve stripped in can get under foot, or caught up on a weed etc.. any slack between you and the fish or snags on the spare line at your feet can be a lost fish.. the good news is, its not at all like watching tv!!! you will have a great time...dave...

BigCliff

Reaction score