important gear storage question

kfisher99

Reaction score
So I'm a college student with a really small apartment and I have lots of fly fishing gear, so I'm planning on keeping it all in a duffle bag inside the trunk of my honda, which is parked outside sometimes in the sun. Will that damage any of the gear over time? It's in San Diego, CA so it doesn't get THAT hot. Thanks.

Vans

Reaction score
Since it isnt going to be in direct light for long periods of time, it should be fine. However, i would be more concerned with theft. To spend all that money and time aquiring gear you love only to have someone nik it from you in an instant....

caseywise

Reaction score
put that bag in your closet or under your bed or wherever inside your apt.
i was robbed of about 1500 bucks worth of gear about 10 years ago stolen out of the trunk of my buddies car:(

casey

gt05254

Reaction score
I'd say if you can find room for a duffle bag in your honda, you can find room for it in your apt. Heat doesn't help tackle, and a thief might well help himself to your tackle in your car.
Gary

Frank Whiton

Most Senior Member
Reaction score
Hi kfisher99,

It may not get real hot along the beach but just a few miles inland and it can get extremely hot. Heat might deteriorate your leader material, anything that is plastic might melt or deform. Some fly dressings may be altered. I just wouldn't take the chance.

Frank

O

okuma