Fly Drying Patch

daveny85

Reaction score
I'm just getting started in fly fishing (done the regular stuff for bass and pike all my life), and I'm slowly but surely acquiring all my gear at the lowest prices I can get...college is expensive, but at least I can take PED154/Fly Fishing to meet my Phys Ed requirement.

Anyways, the one little tidbit that has eluded me is a small fleece fly drying patch. I picked up an Orvis Convertible Tech Vest in their outlet ($80, listed at $160), only to discover it did not have the handy little fly patch. I was wondering if anyone knew where I could obtain one online. All I've been able to find is one big bulky clip-on and a multi-purpose leader-straightener/line-cleaner, and I'd much rather have one little traditional single-purpose patch.

Colorado Cajun

Reaction score
I never cared for the wool patched because you have to pick the wool out of the barb when you take the fly off. I switched to a foam one and would lose flies that would fall off because anywhere you put it, seems to be a busy spot. I ended up giving up on those and just use my fly boxes. I hope you have better success with them.

Piscator

Prospecting for Trout
Reaction score
I would have to agree with the misplaced Cajun. I now use my fly box for the same reason he does.

Here's a useful tip for you: I have a small fly box that I set aside for the specific use of putting my flies that are wet in. I have added the same little silcon packs that you find in your medication or vitamin bottles and found in some packaging. These are used to draw moisture into the packs or so they say. I usually shake my fly dry and pat it a bit with my shirt then put it in this fly box.

Hope this helps.
Thanks,
Terry

Reactor

Reaction score