2nd Rod - Large Trout, Stripers, Salmon, etc.

burns

Reaction score
Good day!

I'm a fairly novice east coast fly-fisherman and my experiences with a fly-rod are mostly limited to trout on small streams up to mid-sized rivers. My first rod was a Sage 6-weight designed for beginners which has a fairly full-flex.

I now do all of my fly-fishing (trout, smallmouth and bluegill) with my other (newer) rod; an Orvis Silver-Label 8'6" 4-weight with a mid flex (6.0) which I like. I've had a very productive summer with it on small trout streams.

I have done some fly-fishing for snook in Florida with a borrowed 8-weight, which is the full extent of my saltwater fishing with a fly-rod.

I'm interested in getting a larger rod and reel at this point. What weight should I consider as a compromise? This would be for trout out west on trips, bass in lakes, with the future possibility of stripers on the east coast and maybe a salmon trip one day. I also visit Florida now and then and may be doing some fishing there for snook or something else. I suppose that is a lot of variety for one rod, but I'm just a frugal guy. I'm looking for the best compromise I can find.

What should I be looking at? I was thinking of a 7 or 8-weight Echo Classic or Echo2 and a Pflueger Trion or Summit Reel. I'm definitely very open for suggestions though. Any informed advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Frank Whiton

Most Senior Member
Reaction score
Hi burns,

You seem to be doing alright with your 4wt and that should take care of your trout fishing even out west. Since you mentioned Salmon and Strippers I would suggest a 9' 8wt. It would also serve you in Florida. The Echo rods are a good choice and so is the TFO TiCr.

burns

Reaction score
Thanks for your response Frank. What about the reel - do I need a more expensive reel for Salmon/Stripers, or would the aforementioned Pflueger do the job?

BigCliff

Reaction score