New Member: Wanting to start, seeking pre-purchase advice

stevensj2

Reaction score
Hi guys/girls,

Great forum you've got here. I've been browsing/lurking the last few days, and have been glad I found this place. (I also apologize if new member threads go elsewhere, I don't mean to keep moderators any busier than they are :p)

I suppose I can't quite say I am new to fly fishing just yet, because I have yet to make a single cast. But I can say I am incredibly excited to start learning.

I plan on picking up a rod/reel combo and some basic flies this weekend, and trying to get out as much as possible.

What I was wondering is if there is anything you would recommend to get, or advise to avoid, when getting started?

The combo I plan on getting is a Cabelas Cahill 5wt. I don't know yet about flies - I'm hoping the staff at the store will be able to point me in the right direction for some that work in the fall; mostly trout, some for bass.

Unfortunately, I don't have super great access to a nice stream/river at most times, but several times a year I do spend a weekend near the Manistee and Muskegon rivers (in Michigan), and I hear they are good locations. They are gorgeous, that I do know.

Thanks in advance - I'm looking forward to learning a lot, and hopefully I can have something to share in return at some point :)

Edit: Doh! I just noticed the member intro. section. Sorry, mods.

Frank Whiton

Most Senior Member
Reaction score
Hi Joshua,

Welcome to the forum. You are smart to seek advice before your purchase.