Beginner Help: Redington vs Cabela's

stevo56

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to this forum just as I am new to the sport of fly fishing. I am currently enrolled in a class on the subject, but I am looking to purchase my own rod and reel outfit. Right now I have two options in mind:

Redington Pursuit Combo 4pc 9' 6wt
or
Cabela's Wind River Rod 4pc 9' 6wt w/ Cabela's Prestige Plus Fly Reel

The Redington comes with a case and prespooled line/backing and I can get it for about $150.

The Cabela's Rod and Reel are both currently on sale and will run about $65. However I will need to purchase line, backing, leaders, and tippet material, bringing the total up to $140. This will not come with a case as far as I can tell.

I feel like the Cabela's product is a better deal, getting to pick my own line and getting some extra backing and leaders out of it all. However I like the Pursuit rod more than the Wind River. I've always had good experience with Cabela's products and feel like I get a good bang for my buck, especially when they are on sale (as they are now). And I feel like the wiser choice would be going for the better deal.

Does anyone have any advice, insight into these product lines, or reccomendations they would like to share?

bucktail

Reaction score
Well hello there I myslf started with a reddington crosswater combo wich is like a step down from the pursuit. I highly reccomend it from my experience you get some real quality for a decent price. I now also have their re2fly combo as well and love it. For cabelas you should read the reviews on it or maybe see what brand manufactures it. In the end go with your gut but im sure some more people will chip in to help you reach a more informed decsion. Good luck! :punk:

tbblom

Reaction score