The Addiction is Now Cemented!

fire instructor

Reaction score
Many of you know that I'm just finally learning how to fly fish, after having it on my "Bucket List". I started studying what I needed to learn late last Fall, I bought the necessary rod, reel, and lines, I got involved with this forum and learned even more, I took a tying class with the local Federation Club, I watched You-Tube and DVD videos, and I practiced casting in my back yard.

Well, this evening, after work, I took it all to a local stream. A stream that I used to ride my bicycle to when I was a youngster, and visited several times over the years, but hadn't fished in 20+ years.

The water was low, as we've had no rain, and there was very little snow melt, so I headed for a rock-ledge pool that I remembered. Tied one of the BHPT's that I tied in class to my 7' 3/4wt, and then embarassed myself with several pathetic casts into the breeze. Since I was casting directly into the breeze, I decided to move to part way upstream on the pool edge and cast diagonally across, at an angle to the breeze. This improved my cast some (not much), and on the 7th or 8th cast I actually had a FISH ON!!!

I sucessfully landed my first fly rod trout, caught on my own tied fly! A 9" brown, clearly a recent stocky (I was fishing about a mile downstream from one of the locations where that state fisheries stocked about 3 weeks ago), as the trout wasn't brightly colored and teh spots seemed almost "washed out". But who cares??? I sucessfully landed my first fly rod trout, caught on my own tied fly!

I had left my cell phone in the Jeep, as I didn't want to drop it in the water, and in my rush to get from work, home to change, and out to the stream, I had forgotten to bring my camera. :( So you'll have to take my word.... I looked him over for a minute or so, then held him in the current to make sure he would survive, the released him.