What if there's no hatch?

bassguitarplayer

Reaction score
Hey all,

I did a search and couldn't find anything on this topic so I apologize if this is a repeat.

I'm a noob too, so please be patient if this is a dumb question.

First the story: I went up to the Poudre River in Northern Colorado today and the river was baren of life as far as I could tell. I saw a few hoppers and butterflies but no stones, mayflies, or caddis. I turned over rocks... nothing. More rocks... nothing. Finally I saw a caddis in it's little house of rocks, but that was it. It was a mild day, probably in the high 60's or low 70's.

The water was kinda yellowish from a runoff I guess. And there were a bunch of kayakers and rafters.

So, my question is what do you tie on when there's no hatch? I didn't see a fish in the water, and didn't see any fish rising. I tried eddies, riffles, rapids. I tried dries and nymphs. Caddis nymphs and dries, mayfly nymphs and dries etc... Nothing.

All in all a pretty frustrating day considering it's a 4 hour round trip to get to the Poudre from my house.

evan_aff

Reaction score
When in doubt, I throw streamers... I actually throw streamers when I'm not in doubt as well.

FrankB2

Reaction score
I'd use a Wooly Bugger, Gold Ribbed Hare's Ear, and even a Green Weenie if there wasn't anything on the surface. While there are LOTS of sub-surface flies, these are the ones I use most of the time...because they work. ;)

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi BGP,

I will offer pictures and a link to something I wrote here on the forum about fishing streamers in less than perfect conditions. Since you are new you probably are not tying really fancy streamers. My brown trout streamer was 'The Answer' named aptly. If you could find a source for the streamer known as the 'Dark Spruce' it will work very well as it always did for me.