Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 4 pc VS. 2pc fly rods.

Default 4 pc VS. 2pc fly rods.

In my search for a new rod, ive come across some questions. 2pc or 4pc? does one perform better or worse than the other, or is there no difference? Thanks guys!!!!

2. Default Re: 4 pc VS. 2pc fly rods.

Im not an expert but from what i have read, teh action of a 2 piece rod has a better action than a 4 piece rod.

Default Re: 4 pc VS. 2pc fly rods.

Other than the convenience of a 4-pc rod with respect to packing away and traveling better... I can't see what the advantage would be versus a 2-pc.

Something to consider if you think you'll be traveling with your fly rod.
    "Joe"

"We fish for pleasure; I for mine, you for yours." -James Leisenring

I have only 1 two piece rod and I never use it since I find it annoying to transport, even just in my car. Maybe I'm missing out on a wonderful improvement in rod action by using 4 pieces, but I doubt it. Maybe I lose something, maybe not. I don't know. I do know I can get my fly where I want it and how I want it with my four piece and I find it a lot more convenient for storage, transportation and air travel.

Cast them side by side, one after the other, and see for yourself.

Blog Entries

I like the portability of a 4 piece rod, as other stated. Plus with a 4 piece I can carry it across my back as I wade and fish, when carrying multiple rods.
    "To go fishing is the chance to wash one's soul with pure air, with the rush of the brook, or with the shimmer of sun on blue water. It brings meekness and inspiration from the decency of nature, charity toward tackle-makers, patience toward fish, a mockery of profits and egos, a quieting of hate, a rejoicing that you do not have to decide a darned thing until next week. And it is discipline in the equality of men - for all men are equal before fish."
    ~ Herbert Hoover