Another new rod arrived today

wabi

Reaction score
I tried a friends TFO Lefty Kreh Signature 7'6" 3wt not long ago and had to come home and order one for myself. :rolleyes:

UPS pulled up today and came down the walk with a 4' triangular box. The driver came up on my porch where I was sitting and asked, "What's in the box?"
I told him, "A fly rod."

He looked worried, and showed me the box had 2 sides torn completely across and was creased on the remaining side where it had flexed!
He was nice enough to tell me I'd better open it and inspect the rod before I accept it.

A miracle! The rod was totally undamaged!
I'm not sure who was more relieved - me or the driver. :rolleyes:

Of course I quickly put a reel spooled with a wf3f line on it and made a few casts on the lawn. The rod did fine lawn casting.
Had an evening job scheduled (I'm a self-employed plumber), so I put the rod up until I could get the job done (didn't waste any time, the customer got his money's worth on this repair) and got to the local lake with an hour to fish before dark.

Managed to catch several bluegills and test the rod with a fish on the end of the line. Nothing big, but a few in the 7-8" range.

I was able to get out a fairly good cast with the rod with relative ease. This little rod really fits my casting stroke. I can easily cast with 30' or so of line out and shoot another 8-10' feet of line on the forward cast with it. Roll casts of 30' or so were looking good, too.

Even managed to hook one huge pine tree on a back cast. :eek: :eek:

I think this rod will see a lot of use in the next few weeks. This hot weather has the bluegills going after dries as the sun sets in the evening, and I can't think of a better way to end the day.

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
Mike: Congrats, on the new fly rod! Nothing like a new fly rod showing up on the front porch to get the juices flowing to hit the water.

bruce m

Reaction score