Twisted Leaders - Step-By-Step

kglissmeyer1

Reaction score
As promised, here is my step-by-step instructions for rolling your own twisted mono leaders. There is a bit of a learning curve, but not too much. The biggest problem that occurs is that of the two terminal ends of the mono you are twisting together winding back up on themselves. If you don't stop in the twisting process and un-twist these two ends you will end up with quite a mess similar to a backlash or birds nest when casting on a very windy day! :D

Give this a try and let others know what you think. I've been making and fishing these for about 7 years now and would not go back to any other type of leaders.

For the sake of being able to see the line in the photos better I used a dark mono. For my own use I prefer Maxima Chameleon.

Twisted Leaders - Step-By-Step:

Step 1 - After doubling 24' of 2x Maxima and stretching by looping around doorknob or some such, hold as shown in left hand if right-handed:

Step 2 - Begin spinning looped mono clockwise with index and thumb of right hand. Make sure long tag ends are seperated and spin slowly allowing twists to run out of tag ends. Be patient and go slowly.

What previous step should look like as you go...

Results of 1st furl - You've spun/twisted together 24' of 2x mono by using steps 1 and 2 to achieve an approx. 12' twisted piece. On the left is your looped end (beginning)and on the right are your two tag ends

Step 3 - Tie an overhand knot in the two tag ends

Step 4 - This is what your first twist should look like with a loop in one end and two tags which you have tied together with an overhand knot. You now have 24 feet of mono twisted together to approx. 12' with a loop at one end and the knotted together ends of mono at the other. Measure 48-inches from the loop end and bring the knotted end to that point.