Is ferrule wax necessary?

nick k

Reaction score
When Orvis fixed my rod and sent it back last year, they included a small containing of ferrule wax. I have never used ferrule wax before, and it has never seemed all that necessary or helpful to me.

Are you supposed to use it all the time, or just for long outings?

FrankB2

Reaction score
I use it sometimes, about as often as I turn clocks back each year. :D

Why Orvis sent the wax might depend on where the rod broke. If it broke at the ferrule, they might be suggesting that some wax would help seat the ferrules better than not using wax at all. If that's the case, a little every now and then is the procedure I see used most often. The wax is super sticky, but you should check the ferrules (male and female) for grit. The male part is easy, and you can run a Q-Tip inside the larger female ferrule ends. The smaller sections can be cleaned with a piece of rolled paper towel. That works for me, and something I do regardless of whether they've been waxed.

1move

Reaction score
If you never used it how do you know its not helpful? It actually makes things a little easier and increases the life of the ferrule. It allows for a tighter connection, and wears down the ferrule less. I use it maybe 2 - 6 times per year depending on how much I go fishing.

From their website;

"Extend the life of your fly rods with Orvis Ferrule Wax. Eliminates friction and wear when putting fly rods together and taking them apart. Lubricates the ferrule as it flexes during use and prevents undo wear and tear. Allows the ferrule to engage deeper and more firmly eliminating loosening and potential damage. Lubricate the male end and insert with a 90 degree twist for best results."

littledavid123

Reaction score