How can I get a job in this industry?

streamwalker

Reaction score
Well first off I'm 19 and just starting out my " real world life " I'm going to school to become a diesel mechanic but know I don't want to do it long term and I know I want to be in the out door side of things. I was just wondering for those of you who are guides or own fly fishing stores or who work in the outdoor/fishing world how did you do it! I'm basically just wanting to know what the best way to start moving in the right direction to some day get a dream job. I can pretty much sacrifice moving to anywhere as I'm not tied down where I currently live. Dose anyone have any tips at all? Thanks!

MoscaPescador

Reaction score
I never worked as a guide, but I worked in the fly fishing industry for six years.

There are two types of guides. One is an independent operator. The other works for a licensed outfitter. The independent operator has a business license, insurance bond, and guiding license. He is responsible for all of his overhead. The employee type is hired by a licensed outfitter. The outfitter takes care of the business overhead. In some states, the employee type guide will have to obtain a special guiding license to work for outfitters.

The shop that I worked at was not an outfitter. It contracted licensed guides.

One thing that I learned from the independent guides is that they have to know how to run their own businesses. You don't necessarily need a degree, but a few basic business classes under your belt will help. I have seen a few guides fail because of poor basic business practices like record keeping.

There are guide schools available. I have had mixed reviews on them.

Here's a reality check. Don't plan on getting rich in the industry. Guiding is more of a labor of love. Most successful guides who I know work part time in the industry and have full time paying jobs.

Dennis

gt05254

Reaction score