Frustrating time casting my new rod

caberguy

Reaction score
Got out with my new Redington CPX 9'6" 8wt today. It was a frustrating experience.

I know it's a fast rod, but I just couldn't carry enough line in the air to get it to load properly with WF8F and an unweighted streamer (by which I mean couldn't ever feel it load). Once I put a bead-head streamer and some split shot I could at least feel it load, but still couldn't get much consistent distance... a lot of times the line would just collapse out in front of me. Was trying to focus firm stops on my front and back casts, and trying to add hauls once in a while... but ugh. I will be ordering WF9F shortly to overline the sucker.

It was also pretty windy when I got on the water, that didn't help.

I'm still a novice, but I felt like at the end of last season my casting was coming along nicely, but that was primarily with my Loomis GL2 7'6" 4wt. Obviously these are very different animals though... I was surprised at how heavy the CPX felt today.

shimloom

Reaction score
Sorry to hear how frustrating your day was. I have a G.Loomis Cross Currant 9'9" 8wt and use SA streamer Express. I think it's 400 or 350 grain line. Casts my 8wt very well.

Craig

Last edited:

axle27

Reaction score
I am not an expert by any stretch of the imagination. But, a fast rod is not really the way to start. You might be loading it, but unaccustomed to feeling it. You can overline it, but that will slow it down. In turn, this means that you'd likely be better off with a slower action rod. Sometimes it take the right rod to fit how YOU cast...sometimes, it's finding out what the rod wants to come alive.

It's interesting that I read this because I just got back from throwing some line. I casted three different rods:

Orvis Western Series 8'9" 7wt with a BBS III and WF7F.
Hardy Demon 9'0" 7wt with a Allen & Co Trout and Airflo Bass/Musky taper WF7F
No-name 8'0" 5wt Bamboo with a Pflueger Medalist 1494 (I think) and WF5F