Drag on a fly reel

spinsheet

Reaction score
OK, I am totally new to fly fishing so please forgive this question. I'm a bit confused about how drag works on a fly reel. I know from my spinning reels and baitcasters how it works as the reel will release line even when reeling in depending on how the drag is set. I'm not seeing this with a fly reel though. If you are reeling it in, no matter how the drag is set it will not release line. The only way that I can see the drag working is if you are simply not holding the crank (handle?). The crank and reel are locked in at 1:1 so no matter what that stays the same.

It's almost like my old Ambassadeur 5000C, if you want to give the fish some line you simply crank in reverse. Am I missing something regarding drag on a fly reel?

trout champ

Reaction score
I'll use Sage reels as an example.

Their reel drag knobs are numbered 1-10. Setting 1 is pretty much letting the fish have line at his will. Setting 10 will stop the fish or snap your tippet because the drag stops the reel from spinning, or almost stops it.

There is also a click and pawl style reel. Same principals, but there is not a drag to engage. The reels lightest setting is like free spooling and the tightest setting is still letting line from the reel, no stopping power like a disc drag reel. People use their hand as their drag called palming the reel.

I usually keep my drag setting maybe on 4 or 5 setting and control the line with my trigger finger.

Hope that helps
Randy

stonewolf

Reaction score