Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Leader Straightener

Im new to fly fishing and wanted to know if there is anyway to keep my leader strait without having to buy a leader straightener. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Default Re: Leader Straightener

Grasp it between your hands and stretch it. I routinely do mine prior to hitting the water. Same for the line. Pull it and you'll feel the stretch, doing the butt and mid section first and then the tippet with a more gentle pull. My line I do in about five foot sections. Nothing worse than a line or leader with a kink or two.
    http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=24405&dateline=129884  8088
    Great Fishing
    Der Alt Jaeger
    Chuck S

"I've traveled many roads and some weren't paved."
    Will Rodgers

http://fishing-folks.blogspot.com/

3. Likes mcnerney, kglissmeyer1 liked this post
    Blog Entries

Have a look here....two ways to keep your leader staight
    http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/fo...s-share-8.html

Another trick is to string your rod up a bit before use. Tighten the reel a bit and let it sit--that gives you a straight nine ft leader and nine feet of fly line tip at any rate. I used to carry a device made of two leather pads faced with rubber but found just stretching does the trick.
    http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=24405&dateline=129884  8088
    Great Fishing
    Der Alt Jaeger
    Chuck S

"I've traveled many roads and some weren't paved."
    Will Rodgers

http://fishing-folks.blogspot.com/

Thanks for all of the suggestions. They definitely help.

Here's a lot more reading on this...

Straightening Leaders

Straightening Leaders

Blog Entries