Hello I'm New Here..

shug11

Reaction score
Chicago, but Kanakee River on the weekends
Stumbled across these forums and I knew I had to join. Seems like a very good place, with lots of good people. I'm still a rookie, even though I've been fly fishing for the past 5-6 years.

I went on a day trip yesterday down south to a local creek on the Kanakee River (Illinois) and I caught some hogs and probably my largest smallie ever.

And finally, meet Big Bertha..

All were released safely back into the waters.. :D

Tight Lines everybody!

stenacron

Reaction score
Welcome aboard shug11, and thanks for making me home sick for PA (I miss those river smallies). :p

L

Liphookedau

Hi Shug 11.
Welcome a good Friendly Place to Hang Out.
Brian

shug11

Reaction score
Thanks everyone for the warm wishes. This place does seem like a very good place with very good people.

Fred - I went ahead and added my location. I've only fished a few rivers/creeks (Kankakee River in Illinois, Brule River in Wisconsin, and a small creek up in the Great Smokey Mountains) But man I've had tons of fun.

RandomUser - The tackle store I got it from (wasn't very fly friendly) had it in a container that labeled it a helgramite pattern, but not sure how accurate it is. I was originally fishing a woolybugger, but they just wouldn't take it.

I knew the creek was filled with helgramites, so I said, why not. Then proceeded to slay these smallies.

And yes to all those that said they are good fighters, I definitely agree with you. My buddy who is pretty new to fly fishing, has never caught a smallie before, but the yell he gave when he finally hooked into one made me giggle like a school girl.

Man I miss fishing. Why work, when you can fish right?

random user

Reaction score
Welcome!

Rookie my posterior!

('Rookie' means you fish with people who have been fishing longer than you.... at 5 years if you found yourself fishing with a couple of people who were in their first season, you'd be the expert!)