Bamboo Rods! Are they worth it?

gzarboni

Reaction score
I was on the water a few weeks ago. I met a very interesting fellow. Since I am new to fly fishing and he mentioned that he had been doing it for 35 years I picked his brain. I mentioned to him that I was considering saving my pennies and investing in a Bamboo fly rod. His response was why would I go backwards in technology. Bamboo rods are past and carbon fiber is the new. He also said that if I could afford a bamboo rod the best thing would be to put it up on the wall at camp to admire the past.
I am looking for a second opionion. Anyone out there agree or disagree with this gentleman and why. I can't wait to here the responses. Thanks.:confused:

fly_guy12955

Reaction score
Fly rod technology has outstripped me. Too fast already,,far too fast to enjoy. I'd LOVE to be of means to afford a bamboo rod. Might however end up with a new slow glass rod...if the new offerings are slow enough.

I never understood the adage that teaching someone on a slow rod is easier. It seems..to me..to require more skill with finesse casting a full flex rod than the mad buggy whipping method of fast rod casters.

It depends on the person however I suppose. It seems the new rods require far too little personal fishing skill. I'M the fisherman, not the rod.

Simple just requires more skill of the person fishing.

half fast

Reaction score
Fly fishing is something we do for pleasure. If a bamboo rod pleases you, by all means use one.

I also bird hunt. A synthetic-stocked autoloader is the most up-to-date technology for wingshooting, but I love SxS doubles and my favorite bird gun is an 85-year-old LC Smith 12ga. I'd rather hunt with a nice old SxS than a more modern gun, even if the old gun costs more (and they usually do).

To me a bamboo rod isn't worth the price premium, but that's my personal choice. Enjoy your sport the way that pleases you.

trouton

Reaction score