How to fish a hopper, and some rigging questions

fiend540

Reaction score
So I'm still relatively new to fly fishing. On top of a lot of reading I've gone fishing twice now with a guide so I sort of know what I'm doing :D I'm going fishing this weekend, as well as next weekend on my own, went to the shop I like and they recommended a small selection of PMD nymphs/flys and a couple of hoppers. How ever it slipped my mind to ask a few questions that I have so hopefully you guys can help me out.

I have collected a few spools of tippet made by Rio in 4x through 6x but some of it is a Powerflex with a red label and some of it is Fluoroflex + with a purple label. What are the differences between the two, are there different uses for the 2 kinds?

Both times I went fishing with a guide I was set up with 2 flies, something like a San Juan worm with a nymph following behind, all while using a float indicator. These were always rigged up by the guide and I didn't pay enough attention to the distances used between the indicator,fly 1 and fly 2. Is there a good rule of thumb or tips I can follow when setting up distances between the 3? What about using a dry fly followed by a nymph, any tips?

Finally, whats the best way to fish a hopper? Thanks guys!

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Hello and welcome to the forum,

When I fished the grass hopper imitations down there I would start by staying back from the edge of the water on my side of the stream and try to reach out and dap the edge before I waded in. This was done only if the water looked as if it may well be holding some fish. Somehow we always think that there are always fish on the other side of the stream no matter which side we are on. So.......first thing to think of is that when you approach the water, you are on 'the other side'.