Hook Removal Tool

nc_cooter

Reaction score
I am a warm water fly fisher. I have been looking for a good hook removal tool, primarily for bream. They can sometimes inhale a fly. Even though I pinch the barb on all my hooks, they are so small the 4" forceps are too big.
After a long search, I decided to make one. I used a 6mm crochet needle and a salvaged wood handle. It has worked much better than I anticipated. If the bream can get the fly in his mouth, this will remove it with no damage to the fish.
Here are some pics.

Comments and questions are welcome.
Mike

pszy22

Reaction score
This is the best design I've ever found. You never touch the fish. Only problem is you do have to be wading (or leaning over the side of a boat), the fish falls right off so you have to do the release over water.
I've been using it for two years and haven't had to touch a single fish.

This works great for size 10 - 18 hooks, may work for other sizes, but that's about the extent of the range of hooks I use -

To give credit where credit is due, I first saw the basic concept here (there is a video showing it in use) -

http://www.deadwoodtradingpost.com/Fishing-in-Oregon.html

It's an easy DYI, the only hard part is finding a wine cork.

nc_cooter

Reaction score
pszy22, I have seen ones that are very similar, but they won't even fit in the mouth of some of the bream I catch. ;)
Mike

MoscaPescador

Reaction score
Here is a tool modeled after the one that Christmas Island fly fishing guides use for Bonefish.

I have been using this one on American Shad over the past five years. I hate touching those slimy and stinky fish. One of these days, I plan on installing an eye, so I can connect a lanyard to it.

Dennis

fq13

Reaction score
This is the best design I've ever found. You never touch the fish. Only problem is you do have to be wading (or leaning over the side of a boat), the fish falls right off so you have to do the release over water.