Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  8
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The First Fly

Default The First Fly

Do you remember what fly you used to catch your first fishwith a flyrod ?
    Mine was a Muddler Minnow on the Milk River in northern Montana. It was a sad looking, scraggly, moth eaten hand me down fly. It became a beautiful piece of art when viewed in the lip of that little brookie. 40 years later, that same fly is on a cork board in my den.
    What was your first fly to catch a fish ?
    " I'm just a cook " Casey Ryback, Under Siege

Default Re: The First Fly

Cant be sure. I got my first fly rod with the very first work money I made ever when about 12. Wasn't interested in tying anything then,,too excited to just have a fly rod. Yellow Eagle Claw. I'm all but certain I purchased some dept store flies..you know,,the cards that used to come with a selection of flies on them...and it would have been one of those.

Wish I still had that rod.

Mike
    I find my meal by finding my meal's meal.

I remember it well, (perhaps because it was about 2 months ago)

A reverse hackle partridge wet fly tied in the Tenkara style by Craigthor on this forum. It's in a tree a little west of Dubuque, IA. When he opened his flybox and it was basically the only fly pattern he carried at the time, I knew it might be a keeper around her.

Wooley bugger
    Okiemountaineer