New to the sport..First rod?

shotgunlew

Reaction score
Hello Guys, I am new to the sport of fly fishing but I have been fishing my entire life. I am looking for some suggestions on a first fly rod. The species I will be targeting will be Smallies, Largemouth and Steelhead. I know these fish vary in size... So I was thinking a 8 weight 9 foot rod ( The Cabela's RLS that is currently on sale )...How would this be for a first rod? Also I mostly fish in Illinois on the Dupage river but would like to be able to go to local lakes/ponds as well as the Root River in Racine.

buddhist_palm

Reaction score
The dupage is making quite a come back the last decade or so, they let some brute spawning sized smallies go last year. Hope you can tangle with one of those tagged fish...

5 wt for smallies

8 wt for steelies

Everyone is hot right now on the Redington Ct's and for 75$ on sale it seems worth a shot

If your ever heading up to the root, drop me a line, that is as close to home waters as i get

M

mridenour

The dupage is making quite a come back the last decade or so, they let some brute spawning sized smallies go last year. Hope you can tangle with one of those tagged fish...

5 wt for smallies

8 wt for steelies

Everyone is hot right now on the Redington Ct's and for 75$ on sale it seems worth a shot

If your ever heading up to the root, drop me a line, that is as close to home waters as i get
How is the Root this week?

buddhist_palm

Reaction score
How is the Root this week?
we got pounded by that storm yesterday, so today its really kicking, but thats a whole different story

i did get a nice brown stripping some rabbit through a bridge pool on the milwaukee this saturday though

just north or where you boys were a few weeks back

might have been a nice 7 or 8 pounds

M

mridenour

we got pounded by that storm yesterday, so today its really kicking, but thats a whole different story