Long inseam in waders... big issue?

nevessl

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've found a pair of Simms Headwaters in a size the fits my chest better than the other sizes (52), but the inseam is about 3" longer than what I normally wear. Do you guys think this will be a big prolem? I'm thinking the legs may bunch up a bit, but I'm not sure that will be an issue. Having said that, I'm completely new to waders and wanted to check with you guys on this. :) If I don't get these, I'll probably grab some Orvis Silver Sonics with a better inseam. Haha!

As a side note, I couldn't resist the Orvis Guide sling packs at $77!!! Grabbed one of those today. They didn't have any in stock at my local Orvis store, but they ordered over the phone with me and got me free shipping. I'll take it. :)

Thanks,

Brandon

fredaevans

Reaction score
White City (tad north of Medford) Oar-E-Gone
Slightly longer than what you'd ware in a normal pant is fine. Beyond that the material will rub and the ware rate will go up dramatically. This is not a good thing. 3" too long is just that ... to long.

Proper sizing for some can be a true pain in the butt. (Bad pun intended)

GrtLksMarlin

Reaction score
If a breathable wader (even neoprene it helps with), Wader USA suggests 3-4" longer than your normal inseam to allow for your knees to bend and at your hips....Well I went with a set which is 4" longer, another inch would have been perfect yet 4" is comfortable. Otherwise, it pulls at the bootie-leg seam, possibly why so many folks get a leak there.

Once in the water it will form fit to you, yet even out it simply makes it MUCH nicer moving around....So you might actually find 3" not enough.

That said, I do NOT know if in their sizing Simms accommodates for that......It would be good to ask them however before buying.

B.E.F.

ptarmigan

Reaction score