I don't "get" reels-to be perfectly honest

hilltool

Reaction score
I suppose I'm asking for it- but I don't get the exspensive reels. I'm just starting out fly fishing- and I "get" the differences, debates, and prices on rods. But. to me, the ROD Is the point. Its the rod and line that seem to me to make the difference in casting and playing the fish (the rod, anyway). I've got three inexspensive ( 30.0 to 60.00) Redington reels, and other than weight and balance---why would I want a 2oo.oo plus reel? I'm sure there is a good answer- I'm just wondering what it is. I've had nice spinning reels over the years, and bait casting reels, and I understand nice action on them- but, I'm USING those alot differently. If I am casting for muskie or Pike- I'm throwing a spoon or bucktail all day and using the reel to impart action to it. So I "get" a nice, smooth action reel for that-but I don't do that fly fishing. With a fly rod, I never use the reel unless I have a fish on, which I admit is rare :) . Though, no more rare than me fishing Muskie- but, again, I'm still using the reel all day in that case. When I don't catch fish fly-fishing- i don't use the reel at all.

Thanks for whatever insight there is.

GRN

Reaction score
Depends on what you're doing...

Small trout and panfish, light tackle, all you need is something to hold the line...

But...

48 lb redfish in current on a 20 lb leader, and a 9wt RPL+ (tomato stake)... the quality of the reel had something to do with landing that fish... :icon_cool

TL's~

Greenwood

Reaction score