Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Peak Rotary Vise

What a wonderful vise this is! I've been tying for 5 years and I always used a $15 piece of ****. I finally had the courage to buy a nice vise. $149, but I'm sure it will last me a long time.

I'm not a expert tier by any means, and I used to lose my mind and throw the crappy fly in the trash....... then I would go to Cabelas and buy some. LOL

With a rotary vise I can turn the fly any place I want it. And the jaws never drop the fly on the desk!

Tonight I tied some "white drakes" my own creation. I even made some burnt mono eyes..... for the first time. I used a 1/4" piece of 25lb flourocarbon leader (my saltwater stuff) and held it in my hackle plyers and put it next to a candle. In a micro second it melts and forms a round eye on each side. Then I used a magic marker. Tiny eyes on a dry fly makes the fly look real.

So relaxing and so much fun. I love to tie flies.

Seven days until trout season opens, Fish On longrodders,
    Rick

Default Re: Peak Rotary Vise

My first tying efforts were made 30+ years ago, and the vise was something
    that could have come from a gumball machine. I bought a Griffin 2A with
    a pedestal base a few years ago, and was in heaven. I tied a lot of flies on
    that vise, but got tired of straining to see the other side. I bought a Peak
    almost one year ago, and now I'm truly in HEAVEN !!
    I use the rotary function not only to seethe ther side, but to wind bodies and
    hackle, and also position patterns so that the top is facing me, etc.

The Peak was chosen because of its price, and also the robust jaws. I tied
    #18-20 midges on the standard jaws with ease, and simply love it for all
    of my tying.

Enjoy......