Boot waders, Boots, neoprene booty, something else?

kid_a

Reaction score
Total noob question here, but I'm just starting to get into fly fishing and i'm looking at gear. What should I be looking for re: footwear? I've noticed there are waders with boots built into them, boots, and then "booties" (like the Patagooch neoprene flats booties). Why would I buy one of those over the other? And why cant I just wear a pair of crocks or sandals or something simple with my waders instead of boots? Is it a matter of preference? Are crocks or sandals not functional enough?

For reference, I'm going to be fishing in WI rivers in the summer/fall. So not "too" cold.

Thanks everyone!

plecain

Reaction score
Unless it's so cold I can't stand it, I 'wet wade' - nylon pants and some kind of water shoe. I like Simms RipRap water shoes. I don't wear shorts. Too many biting bugs where I am.

Most people prefer the booties with boots over them when they use waders. For very sandy conditions, like saltwater beaches, the booted variety is better in my opinion. The booted type doesn't give anywhere near as much support and protection as the booties plus separate wading boot does. But, the booted variety is generally cheaper.

Welcome to the club.

kid_a

Reaction score
Thanks! So you wear waders with ripraps, and not waders with boots? Is that what you're saying? Or do you not wear waders at all...

plecain

Reaction score
Should have made it clearer.

Wet wading is water shoes (RipRap) and wool socks and nylon pants. No waders.

When I use waders I use boot-foot waders in sandy areas, like a beach.
Any other time I use waders to keep from freezing, I use separate wading boots with either rubber or felt soles, sometimes with and sometimes without studs.

jpbfly

Super Moderator
Reaction score