Nets: Is there a "best style" ? Like asking for an average size bolt.

sxm

Reaction score
As a newbie I need to get one, but all the shapes, sizes, lengths and construction has me frozen with indecision making. From inexpensive metal nets to those of beautiful woods and rubber nets. I know for my kayak I'll need a long handle. But for general use is there an "average" or "the best to use" net. I probably will not be catching large salmon, that I can say with a degree of confidence.

Some links to make your eyes glaze over.

Wachter Landing Nets - Handmade Landing Nets for Fly Fishing

Landing Net Styles

Fly Fishing Nets

Brodin Fly Fishing Nets for Trout & Steelhead

Fly Fishing Net / Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net -- Orvis

Fly Fishing Landing Net / Orvis Classic Landing Net -- Orvis

Bigfly

Reaction score
I've been fielding a Brodin float tube/pan, ghost net.
Clear net doesn't spook'em so much, is fish friendly, light weight, and has a slightly longer handle for switch rod users, or tubing.
Plantation teak.
Hoop is 18", but no wider than my shoulders. Nice for walking through bushes.
I use the larger gear retractor. on my vest back.
The fish will thank you.

Jim

Brewmaster

Reaction score
I have used many nets over the years, and I am currently using a Wolf Moon net (Oxbow model): Wolf Moon Nets

Before I bought my current net I tried a couple of the "clear" nets. The one sold by Cabelas is very heavy, much heavier than the Brodin nets.
I also tried the Brodin nets and did not care for them for 3 reasons, 1) the net is rather stiff, e.g. - the actual netting is somewhat rigid and less flexible than a regular rubber net, and MUCH less flexible than a knotless mesh net; 2) the Brodin nets are really expensive, and 3) the Brodin net is lighter than a regular rubber net, but is much heavier than any knotless mesh net.