The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > >

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  5
Dislikes Dislikes:  1

Old 09-13-2017, 03:33 PM

harryhh will become famous soon enoughharryhh will become famous soon enough
Default Do tippet rings float well?

Hi All,

I'm cheap as heck. I don't like cutting off a bit of leader when I need new tippet.

I'm pretty new to fly fishing and so far I like to fish with small flies/poppers that float.

Is it fairly easy to get tippet rings to float? Should I not go above a certain size ring?

I've seen a paste floatant that said it helped rings float. Will a product like Gink help a tippet ring float?

Harry
Old 09-13-2017, 03:43 PM

jayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant future
Default Re: Do tippet rings float well?

They float as well as air craft carriers......
Old 09-13-2017, 03:59 PM

plecain has a brilliant futureplecain has a brilliant futureplecain has a brilliant futureplecain has a brilliant futureplecain has a brilliant futureplecain has a brilliant futureplecain has a brilliant futureplecain has a brilliant futureplecain has a brilliant futureplecain has a brilliant futureplecain has a brilliant future

The small ones (2.0 mm) float fine. 1.5 mm does, too, but they're really tiny and hard to use.

Paul
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 1 Dislikes
Likes harryhh liked this post
Dislikes irideaduck disliked this post
Old 09-13-2017, 04:25 PM

Thanks plecain.
Old 09-13-2017, 04:29 PM