Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  5

Default Do tippet rings float well?

Hi All,

I'm cheap as heck. I don't like cutting off a bit of leader when I need new tippet.

I'm pretty new to fly fishing and so far I like to fish with small flies/poppers that float.

Is it fairly easy to get tippet rings to float? Should I not go above a certain size ring?

I've seen a paste floatant that said it helped rings float. Will a product like Gink help a tippet ring float?

Harry
    9' 5wt. outfit. Now also a used 9' 8wt outfit.
    Brand new to fly fishing. Full of ridiculous questions. But I want to learn.

Default Re: Do tippet rings float well?

They float as well as air craft carriers......
    Mainline the blueline

The small ones (2.0 mm) float fine. 1.5 mm does, too, but they're really tiny and hard to use.
    Today is always the first day of the rest of your life.
    Use it wisely.

Paul

4. Likes harryhh liked this post

Thanks plecain.

Blog Entries

I've only been using tippet rings for about three years now, so take this with a grain of salt.

The rings, being metal, don't really float. Rather it's the treated leader/tippet that floats, and the ring being so small and light is just going along for the ride. And I've never treated my tippet rings with floatant. And I've never had a problem with the ring sinking. And I fish primarily dries/terrestrials.

And trust me, if that was a problem, I wouldn't use them. I'm way, WAY too impatient for that sort of thing.

And you don't want to tie the rings onto your leader while you're on the water. You tie them on either at home or while you're getting your gear ready at the truck.