Good to know fishing guides/fly shop employees…

CutThroat Leaders

Business Member
Reaction score
Good to know fishing guides…

This weekend I was planning on hitting the desert to chase big browns with my son. I called a local fly shop (Three Rivers in Eagle ID) to ask questions on the hatch, etc. I was informed the fishing was slow on the piece of water we were planning on hitting. My buddy Arron, aka “smokeythe beard” gave me some good intel. The day prior, He was fishing a local river and had firsthand knowledge of what was going on. From showing me the spot on a map, the fly’s they had luck with and the time of day the hatch would start… all very good, accurate info. He basically did everything other than cast to the rising trout for us. I just picked up a bottle of his favorite whiskey as thank you…

I have been fishing this river for 15 years now. In all those years, I have never…, not once witnessed a child fishing here. Because this fishery is so technical, I was just hoping my son would catch at least one good fish…

The first fish of the day was a really nice bow that was feeding in less than 8” of water. The dorsal fin was literally exposed / out of the water. My 11 yr old son made the quite approach. He casted up river of the feeding fish, giving just enough distance between fly and fish to get a good drift. His thread furled leader dropped the fly ever so delicately onto the water’s surface. Not being able to track his fly (size 20), he watched for any change in the fishes movement. The fish finally moved only a few inches and my son set the hook… Fish ON!!! This fish made three really strong leaps. I was trying to capture them on camera, but no luck. I was more concerned with reminding my son to keep pressure on the fish then look through the viewfinder. After he released the big wild rainbow, we exchanged high fives, smiles with lots of excitement.