Question- Leader Lengths/ Fly sizes????

JeffK

Reaction score
Hi Everyone. I have a few questions regarding leader sizes/ lengths and fly sizes. I'm new to flyfishing and have a 9ft, 5wt setup. I've been fishing for smallmouth in the DC area this summer.

So, my question are 1) what is the ideal length of leader should I be using for this type of fishing? I've been using a 7.5 foot leader and attaching tippet as necessary.....and 2) what size flies are ideal for my 5 weight? Or better yet, how big a fly can I cast with a 5wt?

Any thoughts would be much appeciated. Thanks!

eaglesfn68

Reaction score
a 5wt rod is not ideal for bass. You can catch fish but a 6wt would be perfect or even a 7wt. With a 5wt you wont be able to cast large heavy flies that you will need for bass.

and your leader length/tippet size depends on were your fishing. Are you fishing a lake, pond, stream, river?

I would guess your fishing a lake and for a lake you want a longer leader and probably a sinking tip or full sinking line to get your fly down to the fish

JeffK

Reaction score
Thanks. I've been fishing in rivers, catching smallmouth bass- typically 8-12 inch fish. So, longer leader is best?

hardhat

Reaction score
A 5wt rod will be fine. To me I feel that in your situation a 7wt would be over kill. Is your line a floating line or sink? If it is floating I like the 9ft leader for bass type of flies in rivers. If it sinking line I will use 7.5. I cannot tell you if this is by the book, but this is what works for me. I would say to use which ever one YOU can cast most accurately and effectively.

JeffK

Reaction score
Thanks.

So, if I stick with the 5wt....what are the biggest size flies I'd be able to throw effectively?

Joe D

Reaction score
Jeff,

It depends on your casting skills, the line taper, the rod action and the distance you're trying to get.