Fishing with ant flies

LimerickShaw

Reaction score
Hey everyone, going to go out tomorrow and I'm fairly limited on my flies right now. Couple different style nymphs and streamers but fairly limited. Also where I'm fishing usually don't hold very big fish so I likely won't be using streamers. I have a couple of ant flies that I have never tried to fish before. How exactly do you fish them? Do you fish them like dries or is it more like a nymph where you're putting weight on to get it down further? Any help is appreciated.

ia_trouter

Reaction score
I am sure there are countless ways to fish ants. Here is one way that has been pretty effective on my water. On a cool day, mid-day after the air temps warm to at least the low 60s F. Terrestrial insects become more active and the trout dial in on them. I generally fish them in slowish water, surface or slow sinking ants. They work quite often here under those conditions. Other patterns work better most of the day. I typically fish ants when streamers and nymphs shut off by late morning.

Rip Tide

Reaction score
Supposedly, ant flies that sink are more productive than those fished on top
Poppycock
That's because ants don't "dead drift" like mayflies and for whatever reason people fish them that way.

Find an ant and toss it in the water.
It struggles
It makes very obvious concentric circles.

What I do rather than fish "dead drift" is to fish my ant flies on a tight line and either jiggle the rod tip, or even better if possible, bang with my hand on the rod butt to make the fly jiggle on the water surface.

It's the concentric circles that the fish notice first
If after that, if the fly actually looks like an ant... that's a bonus.

sparsegraystubble

Reaction score
Depending on the fly and the situation, ants can be fished wet or dry. That said, I have almost always fished them as a floating fly. Usually I have done best fishing along the edges where fish probably see more terrestrial targets of opportunity.