Lessons learned. My first season of fly fishing for trout

Martin53

Reaction score
So this was my first fly fishing season. Had always been curious about it but finally took the plunge. I knew absolutely nothing about flies, rods, line, knots, leaders, casts, mending and etc. I was completely overwhelmed at first. But have spent enough time researching and watching YouTube videos that I am becoming comfortable with it. My casts still suck part of the time. And I have had to relearn things. I discovered better techniques than the ones I originally learned. I learn something new every time I fish. The biggest takeaways for me so far. Should have bought a good outfit to begin with instead of a budget combo. Gotta practice and know how to tie all those knots. Wasted money on flies I will never use. I have learned, and settled on about 10 each flies and nymphs that are known to work. At this point, as a beginner, I am trying to keep it simple. Just get better at the casts and techniques I know and that have worked for me. I can add other stuff as I gain more experience. Biggest regret is I didn't start fly fishing years ago. Great to have such a valuable resource as this forum. I read a lot, but this is only my second post. Cheers.

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
Martin

Your post was very insightful, glad you enjoyed your first season and learned a lot. I often tell people new to the sport to look around and try to find a mentor with a local fly shop, a Trout Unlimited Chapter or fly fishing club. Having an experienced angler can make the learning curve into fly fishing much quicker. I've been fly fishing since the early 80's and like you the one thing I find fascinating is the learning, there is always something new to learn. I also like your approach on your limited fly selection, that is a smart way to get started. Good luck!

flytie09

Reaction score