Strike Indicator Slower than Current?

goodfortune

Reaction score
I'm new to fly-fishing, and this is my first post here.

I fished last Saturday by drifting a 'bugger below an strike indicator, trying to keep it close to the bottom. During the drifts, I noticed that my indicator was drifting more slowly than the foam/suds on the surface of the water. I didn't remember seeing any "wakes" behind my indicator, and I tried to mend my line to prevent drag during each drift.

When dead-drifting a nymph or streamer below an indicator, and the indicator is drifts more slowly than the current, is this a problem in terms of drag? If so, how can I correct the problem, or prevent it from happening?

I look forward to your replies; thanks in advance!

jclampwork88

Reaction score
First of all welcome to the forum.

Correct me if I am wrong, but it sounds like the current under the water is holding up your fly which in turn will hold up your strike indicator. Were you hitting the bottom at all? If so there would be some drag from that.

I wouldn't see a real problem with the slower drag of the indicator unless it was affecting the fly underneath it.

What was the currents like that day?

John

OldMan

Reaction score
To be honest. I'm not sure why you're using an indicator with a streamer? If you do it's not important to get a good drift with it. The more action you can give it the better.

afishinado

Reaction score