7.2 Earthquake;

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
That's what they are telling us here and I'm not arguing. I've been through plenty of 5 - 6.2 quakes since moving here and this was a doozy!

It was a real Dirty Harry moment when it finally stopped. Remember the original movie when the bad guy made Harry hand over his gun? Harry pulled it out and the bad guy said.......... "My that's a big one".

That was my thought as I stood in the driveway and the rolling had finally stopped! I kid you not, that is what I said.

I was at the kitchen sink washing out some cups when things got weird. I felt the tremor followed by a sound like thunder but it just kept thundering for perhaps 20 seconds or more.

By the time I had realized this was going to be worse than any other quake I've felt here things were getting scary.

The thunder continued. The chandelier over the dining table was swinging in a three foot arc. I worked as a commercial fisherman and have spent time on open ocean and can tell you that everything was rolling as if I were experiencing a continuing series of 3 foot swells fairly close as they rocked this house.

Within seconds I had moved to the very center of the home and determined that outside sounded better than the bathroom so I grabbed old Boss by the back of the neck and ran out the door.

Nancy was on the way home from Anchorage and (although I didn't know) just 5 miles away as I stood there in the drive.

There was no wind but the trees were swaying as they would under a 20 mph wind. Everything including the ground beneath my feet was rolling like I haven't sensed since the last time that big barge passed me on the Yentna River!

It seems roads out here are broken up pretty bad.

We have no need to leave the property so are sitting tight. USGS warns that there may be an equal or stronger quake this afternoon.