Looking for a small stream CO trout rod

jb1023

Reaction score
I am trying to figure out what to buy for a new setup. I want something for smaller streams in CO. I currently have a 9' 5wt but would like to find something a bit shorter and lighter for smaller streams and hiking. I am thinking 7-8' and 3-4wt in 4 piece would work nicely. As I am still a novice I want to keep the action at moderate-fast. I found the following in my search that look promising but thought I would ask the experts here first. Also, I am wanting to keep the rod price to $150 or less. I plan to use a Lamson Liquid 1.5 reel as the line holder as I really like the 2.0 I have on my 5wt.

Redington Classic Trout 7'6 - 3wt or 8'0 - 4wt

Cabelas Bighorn 7'6 - 3wt or 8'0 - 4wt

Cabelas Synch 7'6 - 3wt

TFO Lefty Kreh Finesse 7'9 - 4wt

I'm certainly not set on one of these necessarily, just would like to get opinions on these or anything that you think might fit the bill. I am also searching the used market if you know of something available.

I also looked at the Cabelas CGR Fiberglass but it is slow action and I'm not sure I'm ready for that (never even touched a slow before).

patrick62

Reaction score
I love the CGR 6 1/2 ft 4 wt for small streams. You'll get used to the slow action in no time.

I have an old Orvis 7 1/2 4 weight 2 piece that is a tip flex. That's probably the fastest rod I ever use on small water. Also the longest.

Reaction score
I've been loving the 8'6" 3wt Classic Trout that I picked up fall of last year. It's nice mix between some of my faster rods and the slower older glass rods that I have set up. If you are ever on the North side of Denver and want to cast it some, I'd gladly meet up with you.

hollisd

Reaction score
At your budget the only rod I would consider is the Fenwick Aetos 8’ #4 but I would try to reach for the 8’ 6” #4 Hardy Shadow. If you can wait and pick up a paper route a discounted G Loomis 8’ 8” NRX LP #3 would be a lifetime of joy.

Redbrook