What things are you grabbing for the most out of your vest/pack?

hawk45

Reaction score
Hi all! I'm new to fly fishing and looking to get a small pack for gear so not always running back to my kayak or to the shore for necessities. Figured the best way to decide on a system is understand what gear you guys are grabbing for the most when out for a day.

My plan is to have a backpack nearby with bigger/heavier gear (jacket, food, spare gear, etc) that I really shouldn't need access to for most, if any, of the day. Or at best leave it stowed in the kayak or truck (or even home). Then I want to have something smaller that is always on me for necessities I'll constantly need access.

So what are your most accessed items or the items you require to be on you at all times (excluding wadders, boots, hats, etc).

Thanks everyone!
Hawk

scotty macfly

Reaction score

Flyfisher for men

Reaction score
Flies/fly boxes, without a doubt. And that means I'm constantly using a set of nail clippers hanging from a loop to clip line and change flies.

After that, it's floatant and split shot. Hook removers and tippet are farther down the on the list (tippet would be higher of I had more opportunities to fish trout).

sparsegraystubble

Reaction score
The one item that I reach for more than any other is a pair of fly tying scissors. I’m constantly altering the fly I am fishing to the point that some guys I have fished with started calling me “the barber.”

I even tie some flies with some features that may get clipped or trimmed from the beginning such as trailing shucks, full wrapped hackles, full wings or split tails. As a result, most flies that I fish generally end up being thrown away at the end of the day.

Several mayfly patterns I tie with both a trailing shuck and microfibbets because I will clip off one or the other depending on what the fish seem to prefer.

Don

ia_trouter

Reaction score