“Get casting lessons.”

steveid

Reaction score
We’ve all heard, read or said that it’s far better to “get a casting lesson” than it is to buy new equipment.

The question is, who has actually done it?

Though I am mainly self-taught/online resourceful in many exploits, and have had success in a few fields of sport/hobby without formal instruction (sans golf), I decided I wanted a casting lesson. I had my first lesson last week and really enjoyed it. Not to toot my own horn, but I’m happy to quote my instructor as saying, “you’re miles ahead of most guys I teach!” So... toot toot!

I came to him wanting to get more advanced instruction for casting in windy salt flats conditions. Some of what we went over will transfer over to trout fishing, but it was all tailored to getting better performance on the Flats. He gave me a few mental queues that really hit the mark for me. We cast my Sage Igniter 790 paired with Rio Flats Pro, a setup my instructor also owns and uses. Next, I may bring my new Igniter 990.

What did you cover in the casting lesson?

Did you take them when you were a raw beginner, somewhat experienced, or more advanced?

What do you feel improved the most?

Did you have any moments that were “Ahhh ha! Moments?”

Did you discuss equipment, Rod/line pairings?

Did you return to the same instructor for further lessons?

Hirdy

Reaction score
Watching this thread with interest. :D

I took lessons after maybe three years of trying to do it alone (through no choice of my own though.) Those early efforts at casting without instruction produced a serious case of tendinitis. :(

I got so much from them that I became an instructor, since there were no instructors in this half of the continent and I didn't want others to need to wait three years before getting a lesson. I'm still the only one here.

I was tailing badly whilst trying for distance when I went into my first lesson. That was fixed in the lesson.