How important is the price of the rod?

dickensheets

Reaction score
Ok I'm a descent fishman. I do trout, bass and carp where I live. I fantasize about the salt but I live in Colorado. I'm an arline pilot so cheap travel means I can someday explore my fantasy.

Question: Will a $400 rod catch more fish than the $90 rods I currently employ. My common sense says no. But with all the advertising hype I feel a little inadequate. I show up to the stream with my blue jeans and Harley hat and catch fish but I'm a little embarrassed by my equip sometimes. I mean I've seen the "Orvis Model" look alike guy catch a tree trout on his first cast, but I do that too on occasion.

I want to wrap my own Scott blank but I have other expesive hobbies (wife, kids, welding) so money is an issue. Should I just go on with my disposable quiver or upgrade and get matching waders and vest.

Ryan

Shane Stroud

Reaction score
I'll drop my two cents worth. I think the number of fish a person catches, particularly when fly fishing, is heavily based upon technique, experience, knowledge, and such. The right flies at the right time, at the right place, with the right presentation usually wins out.

Knowing the hatches, knowing the streams, and knowing the fish will get you more fish than a fancy rod. I've seen people with probably $2000 in equipment waste an entire day at the river catching nothing but trees while a twelve year old kid pulled them in on almost every cast.

I spend most of my time fishing with a cheap telescopic rod, mainly because that's what I am accustomed to using. I like the way it feels in my hand, the way it throws nice, tight loops over good distance, and weighs considerably less than my old "beginner's" rod. Sure, I've seen people laugh when I pulled out that rod, but they usually stop laughing the first time I set the hook.