Gear Bag Recommendation

ontheflymn

Reaction score
I'm in the market for a gear bag to carry my FF gear when I travel locally and when I go West. The bag has to be big enough to hold boots, waders, and four piece rods.

Doesn't have to be waterproof, and I'd prefer a duffel type of design, not a backpack.

Thanks in advance,
Dave

JDR

Reaction score
I have been using my Patagonia duffels for going on 25 years now. I have the large and the small. Both look new from the outside, but like all the PU coated stuff, the waterproofing on the inside is peeling. I don't care. They work great and wear like iron.

steveid

Reaction score
Simms Essential 90L Gear Bag has a separate bottom compartment for waders and boots, which I really like having. It’s excellent quality with great features, but is pushing $200 unless you find a retailer with a sale or discount code.

For a straight gear bag with no separate compartment, Eddie Bauer makes some excellent travel duffles that come with a lifetime guarantee, and they have 40-50% off sales regularly. Never pay full price for Eddie Bauer stuff. I have one of the previous gen roller bags, and like it, but the new ones are much better.

Edit: Didn't notice you wanted to put rod tubes in as well. I would definitely look at the Eddie Bauer travel bags.

Last edited:

photoguy

Reaction score
I just returned form the local Army/Navy store where I found a duffle bag to hold pretty much the same list as yours. I've got a trip planned also where I wanted to keep my son's and my fishing gear separated from our regular clothing and I didn't want to spend a lot as I knew it would get tossed around a lot- Just wanted something basic to keep everything in one spot. Cost was about $35. Heavy canvas with a heavy duty zippered top, it should hold up for a long time.

yikes

Reaction score
Does the travel you are describing involve major airlines?