Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  8

Thread: Cost to spool?

1. Default Cost to spool?

Heading up to Pulaski end of September and need to spool my two reels up. What the average cost now to fill the reel with line and floating line? I am new to it.

Also what line would you recommend for the salmon up there. Thanks

Blog Entries

Default Re: Cost to spool?

If you buy the line at the shop, they may just give you the backing....but perhaps it may cost $10 if it is a smaller shop.
    They should spool you for free with purchase.
    There are guys out there who will buy a cheap on-line and ask them to spool for free. DON'T DO THIS!!!!
    Nothing is free or easy in life......especially backing and quality service.
    Can't advise on line because you didn't say what rod you will use.

Jim
    The bar isn't set by the fish we catch, but by the one's we don't.

Bigfly

3. Likes ejsell, hairwing530 liked this post
    Blog Entries

Never had to pay for putting line on a spool.

I've even walked into a shop with my own reel and my own line/backing and asked them to spool it, and always gotten that service for free.

Not sure I would pay for that service.

Okay, maybe if a celebrity fly fisherman, a la April Vokey, was doing it, then yes, I'd probably pay something for spooling a reel then.
    "Three-fourths of the Earth's surface is water, and one-fourth is land. It is quite clear that the good Lord intended us to spend triple the amount of time fishing as taking care of the lawn." ~Chuck Clark

You didn't give us much to work with fade. I'd say go to Allseason's, Whitacker's or Malinda's and they will help set you with line selection and string it up on your reel. Line selection really depends on your casting abilities, flies you're using and the rod you have.