Night fly fishing

gregg

Reaction score
I'm new to fly fishing with some success over the past year. I will be taking our yearly trip to the white river in Ark. in about 1 week. In past years we have fished at night useing a spinning reel with a top water plug like a rattle roge, catching some niece browns. Could someone give me some advise on fly fishing at night Thanks Gregg

peregrines

Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator
Reaction score
I'm sure other folks could give you good advice on fishing the White specifically, but just in general as far as fishing at night goes:

1. Be familiar with the area you're going to fish, scouting in daylight first, and if you are wading out on bars, make sure you know landmarks and can find you're way back to the bank.

2. If it's a tailwater make sure you know the generation schedule (or in SW the tides) and wear a watch you can see.

3. I'd also recommend an head lamp (to wear around your neck), so you can have light with arms free. I prefer LED lights which flick from off to Red light first-- they don't destroy your night vision or spook fish as easily as white lights. You can always flick it to the white if you need more light, and for traveling on land back to the car.

4. I would keep rigging fairly simple, and if you're going after big fish, use heavy leaders with big honking streamers.

5. I'd also recommend trying some night fishing locally before your trip. Get used to using moonlight to tie knots, finding stuff in your vest, get a feel for distance based on the feel of the rod load, and just get some shake down cruises under your belt. It's often surprising how much ambient light is around even at night.

It sounds like you'll have a blast. Good luck, looking forward to your trip report.

peregrines

arfishinbear

Reaction score
Peregrines has this pretty well coverd, the only thing I would say is I have had good luck with big black woolies at night. Like size 4 or 2 in all black.
Good luck
Bear

gregg